I've been so busy getting my Daily Discoveries page up that I've neglected my blogging duties!  I'm so excited about this promotion tool, I love helping other shops get exposure.  The more exposure for 1 = more for all.   Best of all it's really caught fire and we're getting new shops daily!

The talent among this group of etsians is boundless, painting, sewing, crocheting, paper wizards, vintage, jewelry of every shape size and color.  AMAZING talented artists, yes, artists.  No matter what craft we choose as our niche we all aspire to be great at it and it shows in the quality of work and in the professionalism of the shop owners.  It is a labor of love that we all enjoy, I spend 8 hours a day at my 'real' job and 8 hours at home with my 'heart' job.  Would I work 16 hour days if I didn't love at least part of it?

I'd like some feedback today on the following if you care to share :)

*  Do you have a day job (full or part time)
*  How many hours per day you spend on your etsy shop
*  How many years you've spent honing your crafty skills

I just want to take this opportunity to thank all you shop owners out there that take the time to make your product special, I discover new wonderful shops everyday and I know that there are so many out there left for me to find!
1/25/2011 10:10:30 pm

My day job is being a stay at home mom

I don't really have a set number of hours that I dedicate to my etsy shop. There are days when I am tweeking, listing and promoting the shop all day long, and there are some days (like on the weekends) when I really take a break from it if I can. Even though I love making my fake cupcakes and desserts, I DO get burnout when I spend countless hours at it. So I try hard to strike a balance.

I have been a "crafty" sort since I was a young child. My mother sent us to arts and crafts classes once a week for quite a long time. Wednesdays at 3:30!! I so looked forward to every project. And it was my favorite thing to do in school. Although I think that schools really need to dedicate more time and money to giving students art projects. Its so important!

So I guess you can say I've been a crafter my whole life :)

Reply
1/25/2011 10:57:33 pm

I have a day job as an apparel designer. It takes about 50 hours per week. In terms of splitting my time, I usually get home from work about 6, work out, shower and then start crafting. I craft usually until 10, go to bed and start over the next day. I photograph on the weekends when I can actually catch some natural light!

I think I've been crafty forever. My grandmother taught me to sew, although she asked me never to do it again once I ruined her sewing machine! I've gotten better over time, hehehe.
Now I'm really into recycling things into crafts. I think I've started being a hoarder saving all my stuff in tubs in my basement.

Reply
1/26/2011 03:33:46 am

My #1 job is being a stay at home mom. I spend numerous hours every day working on SEO & research for my own website & tweaking my Etsy site. I also try to add several new products to my pillow collections weekly. I have no idea how many hours I spend sewing & designing, but believe I work this business as a full time job, 40+ hours.

I discovered my love for pillow design about 7 years ago but really chose to work on it as a serious business for the last 3 years. This is my stress reliever. If I'm having "one of those days", I step into my studio and the stress melts away.

Reply
1/27/2011 01:36:29 am

**I moved comment to proper thread**

Thu, 27 Jan 2011 10:04:20 am
Well, spending time on my Etsy shop is a must...it is the only way to make sales :)

I have 2 small children...I find working in the car is the best way to get things done. The hubs drives, the kids are happy...30 mins of bliss :)

Reply
2/25/2011 04:49:05 am

I feel I have several jobs, but my main 3 are: I've been a stay at home mom for 22 years. I flip houses on occasion (that is buying, fixing up, then reselling) and working on my ETSY shop. I don't really know how many hours a day or week I spend working on my craft/shop. There is so much to do and learn about running a shop. I feel I learn something new just about everyday. I find working on my wreaths very relaxing and I enjoy spreading my wings and working with new and different materials. I try to add new items to my shop a couple times a week.

I discovered my love for making wreaths about 5 years ago. My mom had recently past away and I had spent a great deal of my time taking care of her. I suddenly found myself with a great deal of time on my hands,(my kids are grown and do not require a lot of my time) so I started making wreaths for friends and family and it has blossomed into a real business. I love everything about Etsy from the craft items to the people. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, I feel I have reinvented my life.

Reply



Leave a Reply.